NAIS Board of Trustees

The NAIS Board of Trustees, made up of 20 individuals, addresses its fiduciary, strategic, and generative duties, led by the officers and the executive committee.

The full board meets three times a year, in Washington in June and November, and before the NAIS Annual Conference in late February or early March. The six committees of the board meet by teleconference. 

The NAIS Board of Trustees is committed to diversity and actively seeks those belonging to underrepresented populations.

View the current NAIS board of trustees

Voting for NAIS Trustees: Proxy or Delegate Appointment for Heads Not Attending the Annual Meeting of Members

Many heads of school will be at the Annual Meeting of Members in Long Beach on February 28, 2019, which takes place in conjunction with the NAIS Annual Conference. However, if you do not plan to attend the meeting, you can still vote for the nominated trustees for the NAIS board. You may do so either through selecting a school delegate who will be at the meeting or by assigning your vote to the board secretary.

If you attend the Annual Meeting of Members, there is no reason to complete a proxy or delegate appointment.

Read the letter from Bernie Noe, NAIS board chair

Proxy/Delegate Appointment Form

Below you will find the proxy/delegate appointment form. The deadline to submit either the online form or the paper form is February 24, 2019.  

2019 Nominees for the NAIS Board of Trustees

Below are the nominees for 2019. Download the 2019 nominees' biographies​.

The nominations for board officers on the trustees' slate are as follows:
  • Monique DeVane, head of school, The College Preparatory School, Oakland (California), treasurer
The nomination for a third term on the trustees’ slate is as follows:
  • Fran Bisselle, head of school, Hathaway Brown School, Shaker Heights (Ohio)
The nominations for a second term on the trustees' slate are as follows:
  • Robin Appleby, head of school, The American School in London, London (United Kingdom)
  • Marguerite Roza, director of the Edunomics Lab at Georgetown University, Seattle (Washington)
  • Eric Temple, head of school, Lick-Wilmerding High School, San Francisco (California)
The nominations for a first term on the trustees' slate are as follows: 
  • Penny Evins, head of school, St. Paul’s School for Girls, Brookland (Maryland)
  • J. Ross Peters, head of school, St. George’s Independent School, Collierville (Tennessee)


Contact Cheryl Thibideau, executive assistant, at